Spokesperson Christina Ricci Visits D.C. for RAINN Fundraiser

RAINN’s national spokesperson, actress Christina Ricci, visited D.C. on September 9th to headline a special benefit for RAINN and help us launch a new public awareness campaign.

Tracy Sefl, co-chair of the event alongside Katherine Miller, says, “I'm proud to be a longtime supporter of RAINN in their work to combat violence and offer critical help to its victims. Our event in the nation's capital will [brought] together supporters from across the political spectrum, as sexual violence knows no borders. We all share a commitment to help RAINN continue and to honor the champions who do its critical work.”

While in D.C., Ricci joined Scott Berkowitz, RAINN’s president, and Evelyn Fortier, RAINN’s vice president for public policy, for a day of meetings with members of Congress. They lobbied Congress to fully fund the Debbie Smith Act, which expands the use of DNA in rape investigations, and for measures to improve services for victims of sexual violence.

September 9th Event Information:
6:00 to 7:00 Host Committee/VIP Reception
6:30 to 8:30 Cocktail and Light Hors D’oeurves Reception

Event Chairs:
Tracy Sefl
Katherine Miller

Honorary co-chairs:
Senator Max Baucus (D-MT)
Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
Senator Joe Lieberman (I-CT)
Senator Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Senator Arlen Specter (D-PA)

Representative Roscoe Bartlett (D-MD)
Representative Howard Berman (D-CA)
Representative John Boehner (R-OH)
Representative Steve Cohen (D-TN)
Representative John Conyers (D-MI)
Representative Donna Edwards (D-MD)
Representative Chaka Fattah (D-PA)
Representative Barney Frank (D-MA)
Representative Charles Gonzalez (D-TX)
Representative Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ)
Representative Jane Harman (D-CA)
Representative Tom Latham (R-IA)
Representative Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Representative Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
Representative Doris Matsui (D-CA)
Representative Jim Moran (D-VA)
Representative Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
Representative Thomas Rooney (R-FL)
Representative Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
Representative Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)
Representative Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

To read more about the event, and Christina Ricci,
please enjoy a few post-event articles:

Huffington Post
Washington Post
Washington Times
ABC News

For other inquiries, please email Chelsea Bowers, RAINN's Development Director.

National Sexual Assault Hotline | 1.800.656.HOPE(4673) | Free. Confidential. 24/7.

© RAINN 2009 | 1220 L Street NW, Suite 505, Washington, DC 20005 | 202-544-1034 | info@rainn.org
1.800.656.HOPE(4673) | CFC#10488 | Privacy Policy | Federal Funding Disclaimer